Skip to main navigation.

Youth Leadership Summit

Claire Roberson of Cherokee High School and Brannon Ragsdale of Volunteer High School were selected to attend the 2017 Youth Leadership Summit sponsored by the Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association, Holston Electric Cooperative and other Tennessee electric cooperatives.

The summit was held March 13-15 in Nashville at the Millennium Maxwell House Hotel.

This two and one-half day seminar educated young leaders about our state government and hometown electric cooperatives and rural electric systems, enhanced leadership abilities, and gave them an opportunity to meet our state legislators on Capitol Hill.

Highlights of the seminar included a tour of the State Capitol and an opportunity to listen to House and Senate Committee meetings at Legislative Plaza. The summit also included special leadership development presentations from the reigning Miss Tennessee, a State Trooper from the Tennessee Executive Protection Detail and others. The group spent a day at the Nashville YMCA learning teamwork, problem-solving and enhancing their leadership skills.

While visiting Capitol Hill, the group met with state representative, Gary Hicks.

Roberson and Ragsdale also learned from electric cooperative employees the importance of having a hometown, locally-owned and operated electric utility in their community. Employees led a learning session entitled   “Power to the People.” They also helped the group organize their own electric cooperative and watched as the youth discussed how they would best handle real-life, difficult situations facing cooperatives today.

Students also competed in the long-time favorite of the Youth Leadership Summit – the Energy Battle – where the youth contended in a fun and educational debate-style game of knowledge.

Claire Roberson and Brannon Ragsdale are both juniors in High School. Roberson is the daughter of Rodney and Leighann Roberson of Rogersville.  Ragsdale is the son of Warren and Cynthia Ragsdale of Church Hill.



From Left: Representative Gary Hicks, Claire Roberson, Brannon Ragsdale, and Director of Member Services Michelle Simpson.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo